Governing Body

The Wellington Academy is part of the Wellington College Academy Trust (WCAT). WCAT's Board of Directors is accountable in law for all major decisions about WCAT, its academies and its future. However, the delegation of functions enables local accountability and a sharing of responsibilities and many governance functions are delegated to academy Local Governing Bodies.

Further information about WCAT including the latest Report and Financial Statements can be found by clicking here.

Scheme of Delegation

The Scheme of Delegation can be found here

Wellington College Academy Trust

President: HRH Prince Andrew, Duke of York

Board of Directors

Chair of Directors: Julian Thomas (Master, Wellington College)

  • Tim Bunting
  • John Claughton
  • David Cowley (Chair of Governors, the Wellington Academy)
  • Stephen Crouch (Group Finance Director, Wellington College)
  • Neill Lunnon (Chair of Governors, Wellington Primary Academy)
  • Abrilli Phillip (WCAT Executive Principal)
  • Ginny Rhodes
  • Sir Anthony Salz

Head of Governance: Katie Paxton-Doggett


The Wellington Academy Governing Body

Chair of Governors: David Cowley (Former Director, Willis Insurance Brokers)

  • Robin Edwards (Parent)
  • Sarah Evans (Chair of Trustees, Westside School, Westminster)
  • Ann Keane-Maher (Chair of Academic Working Group)
  • Matt Oakman (Wellington College Representative)
  • Jim Phillips (Parent)